Moving!

moving-bike1My family and I moved last week. Now, that might conjure up all kinds of feelings on your part:  panic, frustration, fear, exhaustion . . . to name a few. Like you, we experienced all those emotions and mostly all at once. Now I remember why we hadn’t moved in over 12 years! For some of you, it’s been much longer than that.

OK, at this point, all I have to say is “boxes,” and I bet I can get a reaction. Oh, there were boxes I don’t even remember having of stuff I don’t even remember getting. Why did we still have all that stuff in all those boxes?! And we still moved it! In the new house, we have an even bigger storage room to store even more stuff we will accumulate over the next 10 years. Plus our kids will be moving off into their own directions and guess who gets to keep their stuff . . . that’s right, Mom and Dad!

I began to think this week:  I bet we collect a lot of “stuff” in our businesses like we do in our homes that we keep without much thought of the significance of that stuff. Let me explain. If you have a business, like we do, we get into a groove of ways and means that serve us well for a while but when those methods continue without much result, we tend to hold on to that pattern of doing things because it’s comfortable and known. However, are those ways and means still effective?

Marketing your business in the here and now is about staying lean and mean. In other words, let go of the methods to your madness that worked at one time but no longer create much ROI. This month, this week, today, get your business in front of the consumer, client, and customer. You know what are those people looking at? They are on the web and they are on social media, every day. Are you?

Just some food for thought, as you sort through those “boxes of stuff”. I’ll make you a deal. I’ll get rid of my stuff, if you will.

What in your business would you get rid of?  Your lifeless accountant? Is it your antiquated marketing approach with that magazine that no longer has a reader base?  Or maybe it is a department in the company that doesn’t seem to be delivering results.

Can’t wait to hear your thoughts! Kroma Marketing

Leave a Reply

